MTV’s America’s Best Dance Crew returns tonight after a 3 year hiatus and the anticipation couldn’t be more crazy. In May, it was revealed six crews would return for a six-episode competition series leading up to a high energy final on the VMA’s Pre-Show August 30th claiming one winner of ABDC Season 8.

The returning crews include: Quest Crew (Season 4 Winners), We Are Heroes (Season 3 Winners), Super Cr3w (Season 2 Winners), Elektrolytes (Season 7 Winners), I Am Me (Season 6 Winners), and The Kinjaz (New: combination of Jabbawockeez, Kaba Modern, and other crews). Each of these crews will once again perform challenges each week to judges: T-Pain, Teyana Taylor, and Frankie Grande.

Most fans of the show including many dancers are ecstatic over the idea the show is finally going to be airing tonight, yet most dance crews around the US feel a little short changed wanting to audition for the show and share their talents. In three years you can imagine how much the dance community has grown with crews and individual dancers, so having a totally new show with new crews obviously would have been the best scenario.

There is still a sense of nostalgia when it comes to the new season of “ABDC,” even though Season 1 winners Jabbawockeez, most recognized and successful after ABDC, are not involved in the show, many fans and dancers wait in anticipation for tonights episode.

UPDATE: Grammy Award Winning R&B Artist, NE-YO, will be performing on the show tonight!



Here’s a preview of each crew:

Elektrolytes (ARIZONA)

All original Season 7 members will be competing on this season and its great to see all Elektro back together. Adding crazy tricking, intense choreography, and exploding shapes, Elektrolytes could be the underdogs to win it all again!


I Am Me really ushered in a new era of crew back in Season 6, combining some of the craziest tuts and shapes with tricks never before seen on the show. Although not all the original members will participate, I Am Me has added a few alumni to ABDC in Tam Rapp (8 Flavahz), Bebo (Phunk Phenomenon), and Scarlett (Funkdation). Adding the tricks and flips of Tam and Scarlett with the breaking skills of Bebo, watch out for I Am Me.


Watch out for The KINJAZ because they come out of nowhere with all the talent in this crew! A cast of dancers which includes Mike Song (Kaba Modern) and Ben Chung (Jabbawockeez) with other beasts like Anthony Lee, Vinh Nguyen, Pat Cruz, Villn, MPact, and Darren Wong. If you haven’t seen KINJAZ, YOU WILL! Could very well be Quest vs Kinjaz (search this on YouTube).


Oh these ladies ain’t messing around! No REALLY?! All these crews best believe these ladies coming with the fire! Adding the talents of Marie Poppins, the Season 4 winners make it back to the stage adding all those various styles of street dance ready to make a statement.


They added Lil G (Venezuela) and Neguin (Brazil)…GAME OVER! Super hero bboys have tons of experience in the breaking international game since their winning Season 2 and now adding two of the best breakers in the world only catapults them to what could be another ABDC win. And Yes…they can do choreography


OH MAN QUEST!! D-Trix is back competing on the show with Quest and we will say no more than, the competition on this show is about to be real dope! We wanna see these crews battle it out in a cypher parking lot battle nothing but raw, haha.

So there you go! It all starts tonight on MTV at 11/10c.

[wpdevart_poll id=”1″ theme=”0″]